{DIY} Back to the Basics

10 Oct

This week I went to work on a super easy craft project for my little nephew. I fell back in love with crayons – vibrant colors and lots of dimension, exactly what I love. I also tried to utilize lots of blue crayons, as it is E’s favorite color (gotta love little boys!).

Tools needed:

Glue gun

1 page of scrapbook paper (12 x 12 inch)

1 box of crayons (24 count)

2 printed letters of the monogram letter

1 12 x 12 shadowbox

I used 2 print outs of the letter – one for the final product and one to get everything laid out exactly how I wanted it before I started gluing things down. The E on the scrapbook paper was printed in a light gray, so that if there was any space between the crayons, it wouldn’t show through as much as black. I cut the crayons down to fit precisely, ripped off some of the paper on the crayons, and rubbed down some of the tips so they looked used instead of fresh out of the box.

Here’s the finished product. I popped it into a 12 x 12 shadowbox and voila! I can’t wait to give this to the little man for Christmas!

One Response to “{DIY} Back to the Basics”

  1. kristin_a (@kristin_a) October 10, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    This turned out so great!!

    P.S. Kelly and I have another crafty afternoon in mind. Be excited.

Leave a Reply

